Updated on Mar 04, 2021 08:45:27


JK bags 3 coveted National Panchayat awards

Panchayat Rathal & Badakana–Rajouri, Panchayat Meej - Pulwama bring laurels to UT

5 Dariyanews

5 Dariyanews

5 Dariya News

Jammu , 17 Jun 2020

The Jammu & Kashmir has been conferred with three prestigious Deen Dayal Upadhyay Sashaktikaran Puraskar (DDUPSP) awards for its outstanding contribution to the socio-economic development of the Gram Panchayats across the Union Territory.The awards conferred by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj were given to three different panchayats of the two districts viz. Rajouri and Pulwama.Panchayat Rathal, (Block Rajouri) and Panchayat Badakana, (Block Thana Mandi) of District Rajouri and Panchayat Meej, (Block Pampore) of Pulwama district were adjudged the best performing panchayats in recognition of their work in improving the delivery of services to the public like sanitation, natural resource management, maintaining record, construction of PMAY(G) houses, data management, implementation of agriculture-related schemes, electricity coverage etc.Pertinent to mention, J&K government was earlier awarded three different national awards by the Union Ministry under Nanaji Deshmukhh Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha Puraskar (NDRGGSP), Gram Panchayat Development Plan (GPDP) Award, Child-friendly Gram Panchayat Award appreciating the good work done at different levels in the UT.Hailing the efforts of the department, in general, and Sarpanchs of these Panchayats, in particular, the Secretary to Government, Department of RD & Panchayati Raj, J&K, Sheetal Nanda, said, “These Panchayats have adopted best practices in all the parameters, including providing piped water to the residents, maintaining record, giving scholarships to eligible students, providing employment to poor and marginalised residents of their respective panchayats, etc.  She urged other panchayats of the UT to emulate their best practices for the benefit and welfare of the general masses.She congratulated Sobia Shaheen, Sarpanch Badakana, Block Plangarh, Abdul Rehman, Sarpanch Rathal, Block Rajouri, and Naseer Ahmad Khanday, Sarpanch, Meej, District Pulwama.  The Secretary also hailed the efforts of the concerned District Panchayat Officers, Abdul Khabir, and Mir Nasrool Hilal Jerri for their tireless dedication in achieving this feat.


Tags: Award



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery