Updated on Feb 28, 2021 08:46:39


Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law Confers Law Degrees on 116 Students

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Patiala , 07 Sep 2019

Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab held 5th Convocation on 07 September, 2019, at its campus. Total 116 degrees of B.A.LL.B. (Hons.) FYIC; 42 degrees of LL.M. (OYC) and two degrees of Doctor of Philosophy were conferred. Hon’ble Justice Hemant Gupta, Judge, Supreme Court of India was the Chief Guest and delivered the Convocation Address. Hon’ble Justice Uday Umesh Lalit, Judge, Supreme Court of India and Visitor, RGNUL presided over the function alongwith Mr. Atul Nanda, Advocate General, Punjab was also present.The Convocation was graced by Hon’ble Mr. Justice Rajiv Sharma, Judge, Punjab and Haryana High Court, Chandigarh and Member General Council, RGNUL, Punjab; Hon’ble Mr. Justice Rakesh Kumar Jain, Judge, Punjab and Haryana High Court, Chandigarh and Member General Council, RGNUL, Punjab; Justice Surya Kant, Judge, Punjab & Haryana High Court; Prof. (Dr.) Ranbir Singh, Vice Chancellor, NLU, Delhi; Prof. (Dr.) V. Vijayakumar, Director, NLIU, Bhopal; Prof. (Dr.) Nishtha Jaswal, Vice-Chancellor, HPNLU, Shimla; and Prof. (Dr.) Paramjit S. Jaswal, Vice-Chancellor, RGNUL;Prof. (Dr.) Naresh Kumar Vats, Registrar, RGNUL and Prof. (Dr.) Anand Pawar, Controller of Examinations. Members of the General Council, Academic Council, Academic Planning Board and Finance Committee of RGNUL were also present on the occasion. Hon’ble Justice Krishna Murari, Chief Justice, Punjab & Haryana High Court and Chancellor, RGNUL conferred the degrees on the graduates, postgraduates and Ph.D. candidates. Prof. (Dr.) Paramjit S. Jaswal, Vice-Chancellor, RGNUL, welcomed the guests and presented the annual report of the institute. Prof. Jaswal focused on the achievements of the University. RGNUL has been accredited with ‘A’ grade by NAAC. The University has also been granted the status of an autonomous institute. He apprised the dignitaries, students and guests that RGNUL had adopted Swachh Bharat Mission, developed a Green Campus and adopted energy conservation techniques on the campus. He further informed that the University had adopted villages under the Legal Aid programme. “The University has undertaken various initiatives under Digital India — National Academic Depository (NAD), a Digital Library and an ERP system. Prof. Jaswal congratulated the students and their parents on the conferment of degrees. He urged the students to avail every opportunity that came in their lives. Quoting Kalam he said, “Life and time are the best teachers.”

Hon’ble Justice Hemant Gupta, Judge, Supreme Court of India, in his Convocation Address etched his long association with the RGNUL. Justice Gupta underscored the relevance of University’s Vision to prepare competent professional lawyers and to prepare socially responsible citizens. He expounded the need to be prepare ethically sound lawyers. Justice Gupta also highlighted the need to nurture environment sensitive mindset, that is mindful of the problems looming large in the State of Punjab and Haryana. He talked extensively about scarcity and how the idea of water conservation must find space in the curriculum. He advised the students to build a moral compass within which to operate to further construct the edifice of moral and ethical behaviour. He advised students to conscientiously build and hone their art with sincere hardwork to achieve success. 10 (ten) meritorious students received special medals, (instituted and endowed) for outstanding performance in eleven different categories, academic and co-curricular activities. Justice Uday Umesh Lalit, Justice Hemant Gupta, Justice Rajiv Sharma, Justice R.K. Jain, Mr. Atul Nanda, Justice Krishna Murari, and Prof. (Dr.) Paramjit S. Jaswal gave away the medals to the achievers. Ms. Lovepreet Kaur (LL.M. 2018-2019), Ms. Shireen Singh (LL.M. 2018-2019) and Ms. Taruna Nayyar (LL.M. 2018-2019) were awarded RGNUL Medal of Excellence in Specialiation. Ms. Lovepreet Kaur received University Medals, Surana and Surana Medal of Excellence for Academic Excellence and received Late Sh. C.B. Sharma & Smt. S.D. Sharma Medal for Best Girl Student for the academic sessions 2018-2019 respectively.RGNUL Medal of Excellence in specialization for B.A.LL.B. (Hons) was received by Ms. Ishita Mishra, Mr. KS Roshan Menon, Ms. Purvi Nanda, Ms. Anishka Gupta (Batch 2014-19) respectively. Justice Kesho Ram Passey Memorial Medal was bagged by Mr. Souradeep Mukhopadhyayand Aparajita Paul Memorial Medal was bagged by Ms. Purvi Nanda and Ms. Purvi Nanda also received University Medals; Ratan K. Singh Medal for Excellence and Surana & Surana Medal of Academic Excellence(Batch 2014-2019). Ms Ishita Mishra received Pavani Satyanarayanamma Medal of Academic Excellence  (Batch 2014-2019). KTS Tulsi Medal was awarded to Ms. Ishita Mishra and Ms. Apoorva Singh Vishnoi (Batch 2014-2019). Ms. Jigyasa Sharma received Mohan Law House Medal for Academic Excellence (Batch 2014-2019). Ms. Anishka Gupta received Justice Kuldip Prakash Bhandari Medal for Excellence (Batch 2014-2019). Chancellor’s Medal was awarded to Mr. Souradeep Mukhopadhyay (Batch 2014-19), Vice-Chancellor’s Medal was received by Ms. Jigyasa Sharma, Mr. KS Roshan Menon and Ms. Purvi Nanda (Batch 2014-19) respectively.


Tags: Award



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery