Updated on Apr 25, 2019 10:44:25



65th All India Police Hockey Championship, ADGP VK Singh addresses press conference

Rouf Pampori

Rouf Pampori

5 Dariya News

Jammu , 07 Dec 2016

Additional Director General of Police, (Headquarters) briefed the media persons at a Press Conference held at Police Headquarters (PHQ) here today, about the conduct of 65th All India Police Hockey Tournament-2016, being hosted by Jammu and Kashmir Police in Jammu from December 10, 2016.Giving the details, Mr. Singh said that All India Police Sports Control Board, New Delhi has assigned JKP the responsibility to organize 65th All India Police Hockey Championship-2016.The Championship shall be held at K. K. Hakku Stadium Jammu from 10th to 16th December 2016. For smooth conduct of the Championship, J&K Police has constituted an Organizing Committee headed by Director General of Police, Mr. K. Rajendra Kumar, ADGP (Armed) J&K Mr. L Mohanti, is Organizing Secretary, Special DG, ADGP Hqrs. and other ADsGP are  members. IGP Mr. Yoginder Koul is convener for the Championshi .The Hockey Championship shall be conducted on league-cum-knock-out basis as per rules and regulations of All India Police Sports Control Board and Hockey India. The matches shall be played at K.K.Hakku Stadium and due to tight schedule, few preliminary league pool matches shall be played at Jammu University Hockey Ground.  

Total number of 38 matches shall be played amongst 26 participating teams including Final and Third Place Match.In this Championship 26 teams shall be participating which include 520 players and 200 officials. The name of the participating CAPF’s and Police teams are as follows; Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, BSF, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, CISF, CRPF, Haryana, ITBP, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orrisa, Puddicherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, RPF, SSB, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand, West Bengal and J&K.  Previously the 64th All India Police Hockey Championship was held at Guwahati Assam(Feb. 2016) and the ITBP won the Championship while Maharashtra Police were runners up.Various International players namely Sandeep Singh from Haryana Police, Arjuna Awardee Rajpal Singh and Olympian Gurbaj Singh of Punjab Police shall be seen in action during the Championship. Adequate arrangements have been made for the participating teams and other officials. J&K Police has had a tradition of organizing and participating in sports at national and international level. Previously, J&K Police has hosted All India Police Games which include J&K include Water Sports (Thrice), Golf (Twice), Police Band, Football, Volleyball Cluster (comprising of Volleyball, Handball, Basketball and Kabaddi),  Lawn Tennis for GO’s, Wrestling Cluster (comprising of Men/ Women Gymnastics, Judo, Weightlifting, Wrestling and Boxing events) and Hockey Championship   for the third time( 2001 & 2012).

J&K Police Central Sports Teams have won medals in various events such as Water Sports, Boxing, Wrestling, Hockey, Weightlifting, Archery, Handball, Kabaddi, Wu-shu, Shooting, Band, Golf, Badminton  at All India Police  Games/ Competitions organized under aegis of  All India Police Sports Control Board New Delhi. Besides J&K Police has to its credit many International sports persons/coaches in different sports viz; Aadil Mohi-ud-din, Zahoor Ahmad (Water Sports), ShafiNari, Khursheed Ahmad, Reyaz Ahmad, Ranjeet Singh (Football), Balvinder Singh, Ranjeet Singh Chib, Dheeraj Nagpal, AkshayKhajouria, Paramjeet Singh, Ajay Sharma, Late Rakesh Kumar, Harmeek Singh, Nittin Khajouria, Vivek Khajoura Coach cum Player, Ashish Sharma, Renu Rattan, Vivek Sharma,  Surinder Kapoor (Handball) Satyakam Sharma Referee (Boxing), SajadHussain (Volleyball) Kuldeep Handoo Coach cum player, BhanuPartap Singh, VivekVashan (Wu-shu) , Rashid Ahmad (Fencing), Dushant Sharma (Wrestling), Rajesh Anand, Tarun Gandotra (Roller Skating), Gulzar Ahmad, Rakesh Kumar, (Kabaddi)  and   Ram Singh, (Everester).





related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery