Friday, 02 December 2022



LATEST NEWS Jai Inder Kaur Campaigns for BJP in Delhi MCD elections Punjab to use STPs treated water for irrigation : Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer People should shed stigma related to AIDS : Chetan Singh Jauramajra DC visits PAP chowk to inspect site for construction of New ROB towards Amritsar from BSF Chowk Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer Bats For Making Youth Active Partners In Socio-Economic Growth Of The State Miracle will happen in Gujarat on December 8 : Bhagwant Mann North America’s largest ‘Bhangra’ festival organized at Lovely Professional University Strenuous efforts being put on for providing quality health care services in the state: Chetan Singh Jauramajra Director JKEDI Ajaz Ahmad Bhat chairs review meeting at Shadab Karewa to discuss B2V4 program progress Director Agriculture Kashmir Chowdhury Mohammad Iqbal visits Gangbugh, Nunar farms Department of HP&M conducts awareness programme at Fruit Mandi Kupwara One-day Awareness camp on PM-FME held at NRLM (UMEED) center of Block Kangan 15-Day Skill training programme on Scientific Sheep & Goat Rearing concludes at Budgam Orientation programme under Nasha Mukt Bharat Abhiyan-2 held at Budgam Mega Jan Abhiyaan function held at Kaloosa, Bandipora DC Shopian Sachin Kumar Vaishya reviews implementation & progress of works under JJM ‘My Town My Pride’ Phase-2 : Spl Secretary PD&MD visits MCs of Ramban Raj Bhavan bids farewell to outgoing officers Atal Dulloo inaugurates sheep husbandry technical workshop at Jammu Lt Governor Manoj Sinha inaugurates Amar Jawan Shourya Sthal at Pouni, Reasi Brain Stroke patients to get free treatment in Punjab : Chetan Singh Jauramajra


Heavyweights, prominent names across parties lose in Bengal

5 Dariya News

Kolkata , 24 May 2019

Prominent political figures including a state minister, a former union minister, sitting MPs, as also stars from other fields across various parties fell by the wayside in the Lok Sabha polls, that produced a number of upsets in West Bengal.Leading the list of heavyweight losers is Trinamool Congress veteran and state minister Subrata Mukherjee, who first became an MLA in 1971.He lost by over 1.74 lakh votes to BJP's Subhas Sarkar in Bankura. Trinamool had won the seat by nearly one lakh votes in 2014.Down south in Barrackpore, former Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi lost a see-saw battle in Barrackpore to Arjun Singh of the BJP by 14,857 votes. Singh defected from Trinamool to the BJP after the party leadership turned down his plea for being nominated as a candidate from the seat.Former President Pranab Mukherjee's son and Congress leader Abhijit Mukherjee, who was seeking a hat-trick of wins from Jangipur constituency, stood third with a vote share of 19.61 per cent. Trinamool's Khalilur Rahman won the seat defeating his nearest rival BJP's Mafuja Khatun.BJP nominee for Ghatal constituency Bharati Ghosh, a retired cop known as an overbearing officer in her service life, lost to Trinamool's Deepak Adhikari (Dev), who was defending the seat.Another BJP heavyweight and party National Secretary Rahul Sinha's bid to make it to the Lok Sabha ended in despair as he was defeated by Trinamool's incumbent MP Sudip Bandyopadhyay in Kolkata North constituency. Sinha is also a former state President of the BJP.

Trinamool veteran and party's Rajya Sabha MP Manas Ranjan Bhunia lost to BJP state President Dilip Ghosh in Medinipur seat while former Kolkata Mayor and lawyer-turned-politician Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya of the CPI-M finished third at Jadavpur.CPI-M's outgoing MP from Raiganj, Mohammad Salim forfeited his deposit managing only a 14.25 per cent vote share this time. Fighting from the same constituency, former Union Minister Deepa Dasmunshi, wife of late Congress leader Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi, skidded badly with just 6.55 per cent vote share.In a stunning upset, Maldaha North sitting MP Mausam Noor, who defected from the Congress to Trinamool ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, lost to BJP's Khagen Murmu - a former CPI-M legislator.

In Asansol, Bengali screen legend Suchitra Sen's daughter Moon Moon Sen went down to sitting MP Babul Supriyo in Asansol. Sen, a former Bollywood actress, had entered politics with a bang five years back by pulling off a stunning upset win over CPI-M veteran Basudeb Acharia in Bankura.


Tags: Election 2019



related news




Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
© 2011-2022 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD