Saturday, 25 March 2023



LATEST NEWS Department of Science & Technology raises awareness on natural resources DC Samba Anuradha Gupta flags off run for drug-free district DC Ramban Mussarat Islam reviews public health facilities for sterilisation services DC Ramban Mussarat Islam releases compensation in favour construction worker World TB Day: DC Rajouri Vikas Kundal calls for united fight CBC organises photo exhibition at GDC Reasi In early 90s, directors used to give an idea of scene without script : Ajay Devgn Impact player rule in IPL 2023 will negate role of all-rounders, bits-and-pieces players : Ricky Ponting Intensive market checking held at D.H.Pora, Rs 2600 fine recovered from violators Training cum Orientation Prog on “Formulation of 300 FPOs under HADP” held in Srinagar Atal Dulloo reviews Distric Wise Orientation Plan for farmers under HADP Crypto exchange Binance temporarily suspends all spot trading Hitesh Bharadwaj on 'Udaariyan': 'Being part of a popular show is a challenge' I am fighting for India's voice, ready to pay any price : Rahul Gandhi Perseverance rover snaps drifting predawn clouds on Mars With 'Madhurame', Armaan Malik admits 'It's always a challenge to sing in South Act of a scared government, says Arvind Kejriwal on Rahul Gandhi's expulsion Fake call centre busted in Gurugram, 12 arrested Robert Downey Jr eyes lead role in remake of Hitchcock's cult classic 'Vertigo' Rishabh Pant is our leader; heart and soul of Delhi Capitals, even if he's not with us : Ricky Ponting WhatsApp launches official chat on iOS, Android


Ishan Kishan slammed for appealing for hit-wicket against Latham after taking off the bails

Sports News, Cricket, Cricketer, Player, Bowler, Batsman, Ishan Kishan, 1st ODI, India, New Zealand, India Vs New Zealand

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Hyderabad , 19 Jan 2023

India wicket-keeper batter Ishan Kishan was slammed when he appeared to get the umpires into believing New Zealand captain Tom Latham had been out hit wicket during the first ODI at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

The incident happened on the fourth ball of the 16th over when Latham, playing his first ball of the match, went deep in his crease and tapped off left-arm wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav through the leg side.

Kishan suddenly went up in appeal and was joined in the same by captain Rohit Sharma. The square-leg umpire instantly took the decision upstairs, mainly unclear as to what exactly had happened.

Kishan and the Indian team appealed for Latham's dismissal, indicating that the batter had disturbed the bails by stepping on his stumps. But replays checked by TV umpire K. Ananthapadmanabhan showed Kishan had deliberately knocked a bail off with his glove - at his second attempt - long after Latham had hit the ball.

It took little time for him to declare Latham "Not Out" on the big screen. On-air commentators Sunil Gavaskar and Murali Kartik weren't impressed by Kishan's moves, even as the wicketkeeper-batter continued laughing.

"The cheeky grin is fine, but don't think that was the right thing to do," said Kartik, the former India left-arm spinner. Gavaskar, the legendary India batter, also said in same vein. 

"As a joke, it was okay, but then to go on to appeal, don't think that's the right thing to do. As a joke to maybe say, suggest to Tom Latham what had happened earlier when India was batting, that is understandable. 

But to appeal, that is not on. That is not cricket." The incident Gavaskar referred to also involving Latham occurred in the 40th over of India's innings, when all-rounder Hardik Pandya was dismissed in freakish circumstances. 

Hardik tried to cut a Daryl Mitchell delivery through the third man but saw his off-stump bail being dislodged as the ball passed extremely close to the stumps and the on-field umpires referred the call to Ananthapadmanabhan.

Replays showed that Latham was standing up to the stumps and had his gloves very close to the bails, which looked to light up just after the ball had passed over the top of the stumps and was cleanly collected by the keeper.

Viewing a series of replays, the TV umpire tried to check whether Latham's gloves were behind the stumps before he collected the ball, which was the case, so it was a legal delivery. 

He was eventually satisfied that there was no conclusive evidence that the bail had been dislodged by the wicketkeeper's gloves, which left many dissatisfied as Pandya was dismissed for 38-ball 28.


Tags: Sports News , Cricket , Cricketer , Player , Bowler , Batsman , Ishan Kishan , 1st ODI , India , New Zealand , India Vs New Zealand



related news




Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
© 2011-2023 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD