Monday, 30 January 2023



LATEST NEWS Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu attends the concluding ceremony of Bharat Jodo Yatra at Srinagar Bhagwant Mann Hands Over Appointment Letters To 188 JEs Of The PWD Cluster system in farm sector to increase farmers' income Aman Arora Hands Over Appointment Letters To 19 JEs In Housing Dept Punjab Taxation Department Arrests 4 For Rs 48 Crore Tax Evasion Cabinet Minister Aman Arora unveils 'Khedan Halka Sunam Dian' trophies Sharanpal Singh Makkar assumes charge as District Planning Committee chairman Mauritius High Commissioner interacted with LPU students Zee Punjabi’s show Nayan Jo Vekhe Unvekha lead actress overwhelmed by the love received by the audience Heritage Village at the Sheikh Zayed Festival offers visitors a vivid depiction of the early life of Emirati ancestors Shemrock School observed traffic awareness week Photo Park adds two new HP Indigo 7K Presses to expand its digital printing network 'Pathaan' Effect : Release of Kartik Aaryan's 'Shehzada' pushed by a week South Africa has several good memories for Indian fans, hoping to bring them more cheer : Harmanpreet Kaur Repeated paroles to convicted rapist Ram Rahim spreading communal disharmony : Harsimrat Kaur Badal Jane Fonda raises concerns over upcoming 'Barbarella' remake Shafali Verma, Shweta Sehrawat, Parshavi Chopra in U19 Women's T20 World Cup team of the tournament SC agrees to examine plea against ban on BBC documentary on Gujarat riots We just want to go out there and enjoy our cricket : Harmanpreet Kaur ahead of T20 World Cup 90% reduction in Covid deaths after booster dose : Study Lt Governor Manoj Sinha reviews preparedness for 3rd Khelo India Winter Games at Gulmarg


Vijay Hazare Trophy : Maharashtra, Saurashtra reach final with win over Assam, Karnataka

Sports News, Cricket, Cricketer, Player, Bowler, Batsman, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Maharashtra, Saurashtra, Assam, Karnataka

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

New Delhi , 30 Nov 2022

Maharashtra, Saurashtra reached the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy after registering wins over Assam, Karnataka in their respective semifinals on Wednesday. While Maharashtra beat Assam by 12 runs in a high-scoring contest to reach their maiden Vijay Hazare final, Saurashtra registered a comfortable five-wicket win over Karnataka in the other semifinal.

Maharashtra vs Assam

Fighting knocks from Swarupam Purkayastha (95), Sibsankar Roy (78) and Rishav Das (53) went in vain as Maharashtra overcame Assam by 12 runs in Ahmedabad to book a spot in the final. Rajvardhan Hangargekar had an impressive spell, finishing with 4 for 65.

Riding on Ruturaj Gaikwad's 168 and Ankit Bawne's 110, Maharashtra posted a formidable 350/7 in 50 overs. In reply, Assam threatened to chase it down, but they faltered in the end and were eventually restricted to 338/8.

Put into bat, Maharashtra lost the wicket of Rahul Tripathi early but Gaikwad and Satyajeet Bachhav stitched a useful partnership to build a steady platform. Following Bachhav's dismissal, Gaikwad joined hands with Bawne to put on a 207-run stand for the third wicket.

The 25-year-old Gaikwad, who registered his third century in four innings, eventually got out in the 45th over. Bawne then scored his hundred to set up Maharashtra's strong total. In reply, Rishav Das's half-century led Assam's run-chase despite Maharashtra bagging regular wickets. 

But his wicket in the 16th over left Assam at 103/4 and with rebuilding to do. Thereafter, Roy and Purkayastha put on a 133 run stand for the fifth wicket to get Assam back in the game but they were derailed again by quick wickets. 

Purkayastha was the key for Assam but he was dismissed soon after the team crossed 300 in the 45th over. The lower order couldn't do much after that as Assam ended up short to suffer a heart-breaking exit.

Brief scores: Maharashtra 350/7 (Ruturaj Gaikwad 168, Ankit Bawne 110; Mukhtar Hussain 3-42) beat Assam 338/8 in 50 overs (Swarupam Purkayastha 95, Sibsankar Roy 78; Rajvardhan Hangargekar 4-65) by 12 runs.

Karnataka vs Saurashtra

In the other semi-final in Ahmedabad, Jaydev Unadkat's four-wicket haul, Jay Gohil's 61 and Prerak Mankad's all-round contribution led Saurashtra to the summit clash. Having bowled out Karnataka for 171, Saurashtra reached the target in 36.2 overs to reach the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the first time since their victorious 2008 season.

After opting to bowl first, Saurashtra reduced Karnataka to 47 for 4, with Unadkat and Prerak Mankad bagging two wickets apiece. Skipper Mayank Agarwal and former captain Manish Pandey were both dismissed cheaply and it was R Samarth's knock of 88 which kept the scoreboard ticking until he became the eighth to depart.

Manoj Bhandage's 22 was the second-highest contribution for Karnataka, who were dismissed for a paltry total, a Cricbuzz report said. In reply, Saurashtra lost both their openers -- Harvik Desai and Sheldon Jackson -- for ducks but Gohil and Samarth Vyas stitched a 75-run partnership to make things steady for their team.

Gohil also put on a half-century stand with Mankad before Karnataka bagged a couple of quick wickets as they tried to fight back. But Arpit Vasavada and Chirag Jani, through their unbroken 33-run alliance, helped Saurashtra emerge winners.

Brief scores:

Maharashtra vs Assam

Maharashtra 350/7 (Ruturaj Gaikwad 168, Ankit Bawne 110; Mukhtar Hussain 3-42) beat Assam 338/8 in 50 overs (Swarupam Purkayastha 95, Sibsankar Roy 78; Rajvardhan Hangargekar 4-65) by 12 runs.

Karnataka vs Saurashtra

Karnataka 171 in 49.1 overs (R Samarth 88; Jaydev Unadkat 4-26, Prerak Mankad 2-34) lost to Saurashtra 172/5 in 36.2 overs (Jay Gohil 61, Prerak Mankad 35; Krishnappa Gowtham 2-50) by 5 wickets.


Tags: Sports News , Cricket , Cricketer , Player , Bowler , Batsman , Vijay Hazare Trophy , Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 , Ruturaj Gaikwad , Maharashtra , Saurashtra , Assam , Karnataka



related news




Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
© 2011-2023 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD