Thursday, 28 October 2021



LATEST NEWS Meenakshi Lekhi inaugurates first ever Lit Festival at Gulmarg as part of iconic week celebrations Lt Governor attends commemoration of the 75th year of Air Induction of Indian Army to evict Pakistan forces from Kashmir Lt Governor inaugurates Brig. S S Kahlon Artificial Sports Climbing Wall at Jawahar Institute of Mountaineering and Winter Sports Nyra Banerjee on her role in 'Barun Rai and the House on the Cliff' IANS Review: 'Hypnotic': Fails to be compelling as a psycho-thriller 'Bigg Boss 15': Rajiv Adatia's secret about 'relationship' with Ieshaan Sehgaal Administrative Council extends relief under SRO 43 to the next of kin of violence victims Dr. Arun Kumar Mehta reviews implementation of Business Reform Action Plan /Ease of Doing Business reforms in J&K Advisor Farooq Ahmad Khan reviews crop losses due to recent rains, hailstorm in Jammu division Vigilance awareness week: Integrity Pledge held across Kashmir Officer Trainees of Indian Information Service call on JDIPR, Jammu Mayor JMC flags off walkthone to promote Heritage tourism Corridor of Jammu City J&K IMPARD observes Vigilance Awareness Week at Jammu, Srinagar Congress government betrayed unemployed of Punjab at every step : Harpal Singh Cheema SAD To Move Assembly Resolution To Direct State For A Cabinet Decision To Block Central Moves On Farm Laws And BSF Punjab Cabinet Decides To Summon Special Assembly Session On November 8 CM lays foundation stone of Sports Stadium in memory of farmers who lost their lives during farm laws agitation Charanjit Singh Channi Announces To Scrap 40,000 Cases Of Vat Against Industrialists And Traders Will Launch New Party Once EC Clears Name & Symbol : Captain Amarinder Singh Captain Amarinder Singh To Lead Delegation Of Non-Political Agriculture Experts To Meet Shah On Farmers’ Stir Captain Amarinder Singh Slams Punjab Govt For Being In Denial Mode Over Growing Security Threat


Setback in Junglemahal & North Bengal key reason for BJP's defeat

Election Special, Kolkata, West Bengal, West Bengal assembly Election

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Kolkata , 04 May 2021

Though BJP gained 74 seats compared to the last assembly election in 2016 but it was nowhere near its performance in the Lok Sabha polls where it not only got 18 seats but was ahead in 122 of the 294 assembly seats in the state.Despite the saffron brigade's all-powerful national election machinery making a huge pitch in the state, the BJP failed to make an inroad into the heart of the people of West Bengal who gave them an opportunity to look into the eyes of Trinamool Congress in the last Lok Sabha polls.A detailed analysis of the district wise result shows that though BJP has done reasonably better in the 56 seats of 7 North Bengal districts but has failed miserably in 146 seats in 7 districts in and around Kolkata and in 36 seats in the 3 districts in Central Bengal.It though managed to retain some of its ground in Purulia, Bankura and East Midnapore but failed in the tribal districts like Jhargram and West Midnapore.So far as North Bengal is concerned, BJP managed to get 30 out of the 54 seats allowing TMC the rest of the 24 seats.The saffron brigade held back its ground in the four districts -- Coochbehar, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri and Darjeeling getting 21 out of the total 26 seats but in the rest of the three districts, namely North Dinajpur, South Dinajpur and Malda they managed to get only 9 seats out of the total 28 seats.

Trinamool that failed miserably in the last Lok Sabha elections managed to regain some of its grounds and got 24 seats out of the total 54.The seven districts in and around Kolkata -- Kolkata, South and North 24 Parganas, Howrah, Hooghly, Nadia and Murshidabad -- is an area where the Modi-Amit Shah combination failed to make a mark.There are altogether 146 seats in this region of which Trinamool Congress got 125, leaving the all-powerful with only 20 seats and another seat has been bagged by the newly formed ISF -- an alliance of Sanjukta Morcha.Nadia is the only district where BJP was ahead of TMC getting 9 out of the total 17 seats. In the rest of the districts including Murshidabad (20), North 24 Parganas (33), South 24 Parganas (31) Howrah (16), Hooghly (18) and Kolkata (11), TMC got 117 seats out of the total 129 seats leaving BJP with a meagre 11 seats.In central Bengal out of the 36 seats spread across West Burdwan (9) East Burdwan (16) and Birbum (11), TMC got 32 seats leaving BJP with 4 -- one in Birbhum and three in West Burdwan.Similarly, in Junglemahal that has 40 seats spread across four districts -- Jhargram (4), Purulia (9), Bankura (12) and West Midnapore (16), BJP managed to get 16 seats and TMC got the rest of the 24 seats.Among the Junglemahal districts BJP is ahead of TMC in Bankura where they managed to get 8 of the total 12 seats.Interestingly enough in the last Lok Sabha election BJP got all these 40 seats. However, BJP did comparatively better in East Burdwan where 7 of the 16 seats and TMC got the rest of the 9 seats.


Tags: Election Special , Kolkata , West Bengal , West Bengal assembly Election



related news




Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
© 2011-2021 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD