Friday, 17 September 2021



NEWS FLASH Narendra Modi inaugurates the Defence Offices Complexes at Kasturba Gandhi Marg and Africa Avenue Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya inaugurates multiple Health Facilities at the Safdarjung Hospital India observes the 27th Global Ozone Day NITI Aayog Launches Report on Reforms in Urban Planning Capacity in India Union Ayush Minister Visits Baramulla, presides over Seminar on AYUSH Intervention; Inaugurates Yoga Demonstration cum Exhibition Camp Union Minister for Tribal Affairs Arjun Munda visits Bandipora in J&K Power Minister addresses energy industry under US India Strategic Partnership Forum 15th East Asia Summit Energy Ministers Meeting Union Steel Minister calls for Creation of an Ecosystem for Coal Gasification and Development of Indigenous Technology 68th Meeting of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board Lt Governor, Manoj Sinha releases former MLC Ramesh Arora’s poetry collection ‘Anubhutiyan’ Deputy Commissioner Jammu chairs maiden DTC meeting MP Jugal Kishore Sharma flags off Freedom Run at Samba Union MSME Minister, Narayan Tatu Rane lays foundation stone for development park at Bari Brahmana, Samba Union Minister for Tribal Affairs visits Bandipora, inaugurates several projects Union MoS, Som Parkash interacts with representatives of Trade bodies Union AYUSH Minister Sarbananda Sonowa visits Baramulla Union MoS, Som Parkash reviews functioning of I&C Deptt. Union Minister of State for Communication visits Indian International Trade Saffron Spice Park at Pampore Deputations, individuals call on Advisor Baseer Khan at Civil Secretariat Advisor Baseer Ahmad Khan reviews progress on replacement of Barbed wire, poles


Three of five BJP MPs bite the dust in Bengal

  Election Special, Trinamool Congress, Kolkata, West Bengal, Swapan Dasgupta, Locket Chatterjee, Babul Supriyo, West Bengal Assembly elections

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Kolkata , 02 May 2021

While the Trinamool Congress is close to attaining a three-fourth majority in the Assembly elections in West Bengal, three of the five heavyweights of the BJP have fallen prey to the deluge of the ruling party.Star BJP candidates and MPs Swapan Dasgupta, Locket Chatterjee and Babul Supriyo have all lost in the elections, while MP Nisith Pramanik has won by a slender margin of 57 votes. Another Lok Sabha member of the BJP, Jagannath Sarkar, also won the elections.The latest Election Commission data show that of the 292 Assembly constituencies where polling was held, the Trinamool has won 186 seats and is leading on 26 seats, taking its cumulative figure to 214, only four short of three-fourth majority, humbling the BJP which has won 60 seats and is leading on 16 others, taking its total tally to 76.While Nisith Pramanik won by a thin margin of 57 votes from Dinhata in Cooch Behar, Babul Supriyo, Locket Chatterjee and Swapan Dasgupta lost from Tollygunge, Chinsurah and Tarakeshwar, respectively.Swapan Dasgupta, who contested from Tarakeshwar in Hooghly district and was being considered to be the face of Bengal BJP, lost to Ramendu Sinharay of Trinamool by a margin of 7,484 votes.Similarly, Locket Chatterjee who had earlier won the Lok Sabha polls from Hooghly, lost to Asit Majumdar of the Trinamool in Chuchura by margin of 18,417 votes.Babul Supriyo, who was elected to the Lok Sabha from Asansol, lost against Arup Biswas of Trinamool in Tollygunje by 50,080 votes.In Dinhata, Pramanik beat Udayan Guha of the Trinamool by a thin margin of 57 votes, while in in Santipur in Nadia district, Sarkar defeated Trinamool's Ajoy Dey by 15,878 votes."The results have been far below our expectations. But we have been able to emerge as the only opposition against the Trinamool in Bengal which is a milestone in our fight in the state. We hope to play the role of a responsible opposition in the Assembly. We have to accept that the people of Bengal have expressed their confidence in Mamata Banerjee. We congratulate her on her victory," BJP leader Joyprakash Majumder said.


Tags: Election Special , Trinamool Congress , Kolkata , West Bengal , Swapan Dasgupta , Locket Chatterjee , Babul Supriyo , West Bengal Assembly elections



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
Copyright 2011-2021 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD