Updated on May 27, 2019 08:13:52



SAD appoints Observers to prepare party to contest Haryana elections on own symbol

SAD president Sukhbir Badal asks Haryana leadership to start recruitment drive and hold district level meetings

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Chandigarh , 23 Jan 2018

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) today appointed Observers for all districts in Haryana to mobilize its cadre for the forthcoming assembly elections which it has decided to contest on its symbol.The Observers were appointed after a two hour meeting of the party’s Haryana leadership which was presided over by SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal. The meeting also witnessed S Sharanjit Singh Sahota being unanimously re-given the responsibility of heading the party’s Haryana unit. Rajya Sabha member Balwinder Singh Bhundur has been appointed party Incharge for Haryana.

Addressing the party’s Haryana leadership, Mr Sukhbir Badal said the SAD would contest the forthcoming assembly elections on the maximum number of seats on its own steam. “There are around 35 seats which have a sizeable Sikh presence. Sikhs are part of the population in many more seats. They need to be mobilized”, he said while asking the party rank and file to fan out in the countryside and undertake a recruitment drive. 

He said this should be followed up with district level meetings to strengthen the SAD in Haryana”.Leaders from Haryana while welcoming the party’s decision to contest the assembly election said they would take up all issues facing Haryanvis in order to reflect the aspersions of the people of the State. Prominent among those who spoke on the occasion included S Raghujit Singh Virk, Avtar Singh Mangi, Tara Singh Assandh,Sukhbir Singh Mandi, Sant Singh Kandhari, Tejinderpal Dhillon and Ravinder Kaur Ajrana.The SAD president also appointed Observers for Haryana. Lok Sabha mp Prem Singh Chandumajra has been given charge of Ambala and Yamunanagar districts. S Manjit Singh GK and S Avtar Singh Hit will look after Faridabad, Palwal, Panipat, Rohtak, Sonipat and Gurgaon districts. S Sikander Singh Maluka will look after Fatehabad and Sirsa districts. S Surjit Singh Rakhra will look after Jind and Kaithal districts. Bibi Jagir Kaur will look after Karnal and Kurukshetra districts. S Parminder Dhindsa will look after Hisar district and Shri N K Sharma will look after Panchkula.


Tags: Sukhbir Singh Badal



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery