Tuesday, 26 September 2023



LATEST NEWS Director JKEDI Ajaz Ahmad Bhat reviews progress of developmental initiatives at Shadab Karewa Shopian DC Ganderbal Shyambir kick-starts plantation drive under Swachhta Hi Sewa campaign DLRC/ DCC meeting held at Shopian DC Bandipora Dr. Owais Ahmad chairs meeting to finalize arrangements for Eid Milad-un-Nabi (SAW) at Bandipora Lt Governor releases Mukesh Singh & Anupama Pandey’s book “Curse of the Pir” Vigilance registers case against former Finance Minister Manpreet Singh Badal, Arrests three accused Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu launches website & promo of Pre-World Cup Paragliding event Wamiqa Gabbi takes inspiration from Phoebe Waller Bridge for her role in Charlie Chopra and the Mystery of Solang Valley Fingerprint Publishing releases Farooq of Kashmir, a powerful political biography of Dr Farooq Abdullah Punjab government to address mushroom growers' issues promptly for ensuring crop diversification, assures Chetan Singh Jauramajra Supreme Audit Institution hosts ClimateScanner Event in Abu Dhabi "Mann Jogiya : A Musical Journey through Rishikesh's Serenity" The Centre for cGMP at MAHE, Manipal, is gearing up for the inaugural "NATIONAL cGMP DAY" set to take place on October 10th Bollywood Newcomer Janmejaya Singh Set to Steal Hearts in 'Hum Tumhein Chahte Hai' on October 13th The UAE Council for Fatwa organizes press conference to announce details of its Second International Conference Narendra Modi flags off nine Vande Bharat Express trains Home Minister Anil Vij warmly welcomed BJP state in-charge Biplab Deb at his residence in Ambala Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu inaugurates the curtain raiser and releases brochure for International Kullu Dussehra Festival Students of Loreto Convent Tara Hall donates towards Aapda Rahat Kosh Revenue Minister Jagat Singh Negi calls on Governor Shiv Pratap Shukla 800 Dwarka Residents and Doctors from HCMCT Manipal Hospitals Walk Together to Raise Awareness on Heart Health


WTC Final: Yashasvi Jaiswal replaces Gaikwad in reserves for India; Marsh, Renshaw on stand-by for Australia

Sports News, Cricket, Cricketer, Player, Bowler, Batsman, WTC Fina, International Cricket Council, ICC, World Test Championship, WTC, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav
Listen to this article

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

London , 28 May 2023

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed the 15-member squads and reserve players for both India and Australia ahead of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023 Final to be played at The Oval from June 7-11.

For India, uncapped in-form left-handed opener Yashasvi Jaiswal has been included as a stand-by player alongside middle-order batter Suryakumar Yadav and right-arm pacer Mukesh Kumar.Jaiswal, who amassed 625 runs in 14 innings of IPL 2023 for Rajasthan Royals, including a century and five fifties, replaces Ruturaj Gaikwad, who is reportedly getting married in the initial days of June.

In the 2022-23 Ranji Trophy, Jaiswal scored 315 runs in five matches, averaging 45, including making a fifty and a century. He went on to make 213 and 144 in the Irani Trophy for the Rest of India against Madhya Pradesh, with his aggregate of 357 runs in the match the most-ever for a batter in an Irani Trophy match.

Fast bowlers Umesh Yadav and Jaydev Unadkat have been confirmed to be in the 15-member squad despite picking hamstring and shoulder injuries in IPL 2023, so as wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan, who suffered an accidental collision during Friday's Qualifier 2 match in Ahmedabad.

For Australia, pacer Josh Hazlewood has been deemed fit enough to be in the final 15-member squad despite recently returning to bowling after recovering from a minor side niggle which led to him returning early from IPL 2023.

Fast-bowling all-rounder Mitchell Marsh and left-handed batter Matthew Renshaw are the reserve players, with no places for the pace all-rounder pair of Michael Neser and Sean Abbott.ICC also said with the start of the support period today, any changes to the squad can now only be made with the approval of the Event Technical Committee and added that the 2023 WTC Final has June 12 earmarked as a reserve day to make up for any loss of play on the scheduled five days.

This is the second edition of the WTC, which was introduced in 2019 to add context to the longest format of the game. New Zealand were the champions of the inaugural edition, beating India by eight wickets in the final in Southampton in 2021. The winners of this year's WTC Final will take home a purse of 1.6 million dollars while the losers will get 800,000 dollars.

WTC Final squads:

Australia: Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Josh Inglis, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

Reserves: Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Renshaw

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, KS Bharat, Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav.

Reserves: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav


Tags: Sports News , Cricket , Cricketer , Player , Bowler , Batsman , WTC Fina , International Cricket Council , ICC , World Test Championship , WTC , Yashasvi Jaiswal , Suryakumar Yadav



related news




Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
© 2011-2023 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD