Sunday, 03 March 2024



LATEST NEWS Amid Virtual Inauguration by Punjab CM, Mohali gets 35th Aam Aadmi Clinic at Balongi Cabinet Minister Bram Shanker Jimpa initiates sewerage system projects in village Bajwara & Qila Baroon Balkar Singh inaugurates the new bus stand at Dharamkot Bhagwant Mann and Arvind Kejriwal dedicate 165 more Aam Aadmi Clinics in state Use your new ideas and innovations to become active partners in socio economic growth of state: CM exhorts youth Atal Dulloo for taking strict measures against illegal mining Narendra Modi lays foundation stone for multiple development projects worth Rs 21,400 crores in Aurangabad, Bihar Chetan Singh Joramajra inaugurats the completion of the 19 km long Boha Razwahe at a cost of Rs. 22 crores Narendra Modi lays foundation stone for multiple development projects worth Rs 15,000 crores Amit Shah inaugurates the National Urban Cooperative Finance and Development Corporation Limited (NUCFDC) in New Delhi Himachal Pradesh Cabinet Decisions Dated 02-03-24 Lt Governor Manoj Sinha addresses closing ceremony of Rotary Club’s week-long Mega Health Camp in Poonch and Rajouri Districts Lt Governor Manoj Sinha addresses National Commission for Women's event ‘Tu Bol' dedicated to Inspirational Women Lt Governor Manoj Sinha attends ‘Herath Milan Samaroh’ in Jammu Breast cancer awareness program by RBU Lt Governor addresses the inaugural ceremony of the industrial unit of Bloomtex Industries Pvt Ltd Former Member of Parliament, BJP Mahila Morcha delegation call on Lt Governor Lt Governor pays obeisance at Mahalakshmi Temple Pacca Danga Jammu Former Minister, DDC Member Poonch call on Lt Governor Tourism deptt working on renewed plan to make J&K a world famous tourist destination DC Ganderbal Shyambir reviews progress on SWM, Vishwakarma Scheme


Congress, 4 Left parties, JD-S forge pre-poll alliance in Manipur

Election Special, Imphal, Manipur, Manipur Assembly election, Nameirakpam Loken Singh, Okram Ibobi Singh
Listen to this article

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Imphal , 27 Jan 2022

Ahead of the Manipur Assembly election, the main opposition Congress on Thursday announced a pre-poll alliance with four Left parties and Janata Dal-Secular.Manipur Pradesh Congress President Nameirakpam Loken Singh said that the six parties would fight the elections together and were confident of defeating the ruling BJP.Congress legislature party leader Okram Ibobi Singh, who was the Chief Minister for a record 15 years (2002-17), told the media that the 6-party alliance will have a common minimum programme unlike the BJP-led alliance in Manipur.As per the understanding of the six parties so far, the CPI would nominate its candidate only in Khurai constituency, and in most of the other seats, Congress would field its nominees.However, as the Congress as well as the CPI has already announced their candidates at Kakching Assembly constituency, the parties would have a friendly fight in the seat.

The CPI had announced two candidates and the Congress on Saturday announced its first list of 40 candidates.Ibobi Singh, his son Surjakumar Okram, Loken Singh, former Congress Presidents Gaikhangam, T.N Haokip and 11 sitting MLAs also featured in the Congress list.Though the BJP has yet to announce its candidates, its ally, the National People's Party (NPP), on Monday announced the first list of 20 candidates.The BJP, which had bagged 21 seats in 2017, came to power for the first time, stitching together a coalition government with the support of four NPP MLAs, four Naga People's Front (NPF) members, the lone Trinamool Congress MLA and an Independent member.The Congress, despite emerging as the single-largest party with 28 seats, which was ousted from power after 15 years. The elections to the 60-member Manipur Assembly would be held in two phases on February 27 and March 3 and the counting of votes will take place on March 10.


Tags: Election Special , Imphal , Manipur , Manipur Assembly election , Nameirakpam Loken Singh , Okram Ibobi Singh



related news




Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
© 2011-2024 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD