Monday, 15 April 2024



LATEST NEWS Bhagwant Mann became emotional after meeting Arvind Kejriwal in jail, said Delhi Chief Minister is being treated like terrorists Preneet Kaur Releases Bjp's Sankalp Patra Cooper Corporation secures Second Place in ACMA (WR) 8th Best Practices Competition Farhan Akhtar Net Worth April 2024 | Know The Wealth of Indian actor and filmmaker Vigilance Bureau arrests ASI for accepting Rs 5000 bribe Sany India Introduces SKT105E, India’s First Locally Manufactured, Fully Electric Open Cast Mining Truck, Revolutionizing the Mining Sector DEO Sakshi Sawhney holds meeting with representatives of political parties DC Sakshi Sawhney reviews on-going wheat procurement Honda starts work on new Spare parts warehouse facility in Bengaluru Holds Ground-Breaking ceremony The 4th Edition of FAB Show 2024 Expected to Attract More Than 10,000 Buyers From 400+ Cities Across India IPL 2024: RCB vs. SRH - Can Bangalore Break Their Losing Streak? State-of-the-Art Emergency Care Unit Launched at MGM Healthcare Malar Adyar Furteela: Confusing Trailer Leaves Viewers Wondering Mohali Admin to organize Marathon for Women Voters on April 17 Padma Bhushan Er. Jaspal Bhatti Cultural Evening to be held at PEC tomorrow, on 16th April, 2024 Quarterly meeting organized by District Legal Services Authority Government hospitals to open at 8 am from April 16 NDA poised to cross 400 mark, Cong destined to reduce below 40: Devender Singh Rana Exercising ‘right to vote’ real tribute to Dr BR Ambedkar: Sakshi Sawhney People are ready to end the dictatorship of Modi-BJP Aam Aadmi Party gets stronger in Doaba, reputed Dalit leader and former MLA Pawan Kumar Tinu joins the AAP


AnandibenPatel : Gujarat's first woman CM, India's 15th

Anandiben Patel
Anandiben Patel
Listen to this article

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

New Delhi , 22 May 2014

In Anandiben Patel, Gujarat has got its first woman chief minister and the country its 15th woman head of a state government.Currently, J. Jayalalithaa in Tamil Nadu and Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal are the only two women politicians heading state governments. With Gujarat now, almost all the big states of the country have been headed by a woman chief minister at some time or the other. Maharashtra, Karnataka, unpided Andhra Pradesh and Kerala are the only four major states -- besides the smaller northeastern states -- which have seen no woman chief minister.Assam had a woman chief minister in Syeda Anwara Taimur. She headed the state from Dec 6, 1980 to June 31, 1981.reedom fighter Sucheta Kripalani, Congress president Acharya Kripalani's wife, was the first woman chief minister in India. She headed the Uttar Pradesh government 1963-67. Born in Ambala and educated in the Indraprashta and St. Stephen's colleges in Delhi, she was elected to the Uttar Pradesh assembly from Kanpur and joined the state cabinet in 1962.Uttar Pradesh has the distinction of having had two women chief ministers. Years after Kripalani, Mayawati headed the government briefly in 1996, and 1997, then in 2002-03, and for a full term 2007-12.

Punjab has had one woman chief minister in Rajinder Kaur Bhattal, who governed from April 1996 till February 1997.Delhi too has the distinction of two women chief ministers -- Sushma Swaraj, briefly in October-December 1998, and Shiela Dikshit, whose tenure of 15 years and 25 days from Dec 3, 1998 to Dec 28, 2013 is the longest for any woman chief minister in the country.Rabri Devi of Bihar also had three tenures, succeeding her husband Lalu Prasad from July 1997 to February 1999. She again presided over Bihar from March 1999 to March 2000 and from March 2000 to March 2005.Two women from the Bharatiya Janata Party have headed state governments -- Uma Bharati was chief minister of Madhya Pradesh for one year in 2003-04. Vasundhara Raje, chief minister of Rajasthan since December 2013, held that office earlier for a full five-year term 2003-08.

Mamata Banerjee is the first woman chief minister of West Bengal and has held that office since May 2011.For Jayalalithaa, this is the fourth term in the Tamil Nadu chief minister's office. She held office from 1991 to 1996, from May 2001 to September 2001, and from 2003 to 2006. The briefest chief ministerial stint perhaps was of Janaki Ramachandran, who was chief minister of Tamil Nadu Jan 7-31, 1988, succeeding her husband M.G. Ramachandran or MGR following his death.Nandini Satpathy was Odisha's chief minister twice -- June 1972-March 1973 and again March 1974-December 1976. So was Goa's Shashikala Kakodkar -- August 1973-June 1977 and June 1977-April 1979.Among the states that have not had a woman chief minister yet are Jammu and Kashmir and Haryana. Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh also have not had a woman chief minister yet.


Tags: anandiben patel



related news




Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
© 2011-2024 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD