Updated on May 10, 2021 23:48:45


Punjabi community's contribution immense in freedom movement : Rana K.P. Singh

Speaker Punjab Vidhan Sabha unfurls Tricolour at S.A.S. Nagar on eve of 73rd Independence Day

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

S.A.S. Nagar (Mohali) , 15 Aug 2019

"The contribution of the Punjabi community in the freedom movement is immense but the martyrs from Punjab never got their due. A committee has been constituted by the Punjab Vidhan Sabha under Mr. Harpratap Singh Ajnala for giving punjabis their due recognition in the freedom movement. The committee would identify punjabis who have taken part in the freedom struggle." These views were expressed here today at the Government College, Phase-6, Mohali by the Speaker, Punjab Vidhan Sabha Rana K.P. Singh after unfurling Tricolour on the eve of 73rd Independence Day. He also said that he would approach the Union Government for getting the punjabi freedom fighters their due. He also divulged that after freedom the punjabi community contributed maximum in feeding the nation and showed the pathway to prosperity to the entire country. The punjabis contributed in every sphere be it the defence forces, cinema, olympians in sports and eminent political luminaries.The Speaker, Punjab Vidhan Sabha further said that the punjabi community also played a yeoman's role in ushering of the Green Revolution and their role in the wars against China and Pakistan can never be forgotten. He also added that today, Punjab is marred by drugs and the agricultural sector is also facing problems. But the Punjab Government led by the Chief Minister, Captain Amarinder Singh has waged an all out war against drugs and has striven to make Punjab chart its course towards prosperity. The Punjab Government has waived the farm loans of the farmers in a phasewise manner, Nailed the gangsters and maintained the law and order situation well.Earlier, the Speaker, Rana K.P. Singh took salute from the march past by the contingents of the Punjab Police, Guardians of Governance (GoG), Mai Bhago Armed Forces Preparatory Institute, Government College Mohali and NCC as well as scouts of various schools. 

He along with the Deputy Commissioner Mr. Girish Dayalan and SSP Mr. Kuldeep Singh Chahal also inspected the parade.The occasion also saw presentations of bhangra and other cultural forms by the Lawrence Public School, Government Primary School, APJ Public School Kharar, Shastri Model School, Shivalik Public School, Sant Waryam Singh Memorial School Ratwara Sahib students besides the personnel of the Deputy Commissioner, S.A.S. Nagar office. Apart from this, the tableaus of Health Department, Punjab Skill Development Mission, Agriculture Department, Verka, Soil and Water Conservation Department, Punjab Energy Development Authority, District Legal Services Authority, Mahatma Gandhi Sarbat Vikas Yojna, Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs Department, Punjab Police, Education and Forest Department also attracted attention.The Speaker also honoured the freedom fighter Mr. Swaran Singh from village Jhajjon and Mr. Gurdeep Singh from village Jhajjon by presenting a shawl. The eminent people from other spheres, Platoon Commanders of teams participating in the programme, teams presenting cultural programmes, and the players. The Speaker and the Deputy Commissioner also released balloons as the symbols of peace on the occasion. Rana KP Singh also announced holiday on 16 August in all the educational institutions of the district SAS Nagar.Among other dignitaries present on the occasion included ADC (G) Sakshi Sawhney, ADC (D) Amardeep Singh Bains, Commissioner Municipal Corporation Bhupinderpal Singh, Joint Commissioner MC Kanu Thind, SP (City) Harvinder Singh Virk, SP (H) Gursewak Singh Brar, SP (City-2) Ashwani Gotiyal, SP (Traffic) Kesar Singh, SP (D) Varun Sharma, Assistant Commissioner (G) Yashpal Sharma, Civil Surgeon Dr. Manjit Singh, Secretary DLSA Shikha Goyal, SDM Jagdeep Saigal, Tehsildar Sukhpinder Kaur, Naib Tehsildar Gurpreet Singh Dhillon, DFO Gur Amanpreet Singh, DEO (S) Himmat Singh Hundal, DSSO Ravinder Singh Rahi, DWO Sukhsagar Singh, DDPO D.K. Saldi, Chief Agriculture Officer Harpal Singh, Advocate Kanwarbir Singh Sidhu, Raja Kanwarjot Singh Mohali, Mohan Singh Bathlana, President of Kshatriya Maha Sabha Rana Harinder Singh, DPO Sukhdeep Singh, Deputy CEO Zila Parishad Ravinder Singh Sandhu.


Tags: Rana Kanwarpal Singh



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery