Sunday, 14 August 2022




Kiran Kumar Reddy not to contest election

N. Kiran Kumar Reddy
N. Kiran Kumar Reddy

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Hyderabad , 19 Apr 2014

Former Andhra Pradesh chief minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy has decided not to contest the assembly elections.The president of Jai Samaikyandhra Party (JSP) sprang a surprise Saturday by fielding his brother Kishore Kumar Reddy from Pileru assembly constituency in their native Chittoor district in Seemandhra.Kiran Reddy, who was scheduled to file his nomination to seek re-election from Pileru, opted out in the last minute and instead fielded his brother. Addressing the people, he said he would campaign for the party across Seemandhra.He resigned as the chief minister and also quit the Congress party after the parliament passed a bill in February this year for bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh. He along with some MPs expelled by the Congress floated JSP in March.Kiran Reddy was elected from Pileru in 2009, when the constituency was created as a result of delimitation. He earlier represented Vayalapadu assembly constituency in 1989, 1999 and 2004.

Meanwhile, JSP has fielded former Congress MPs G.V. Harsha Kumar and Sabbam Hari from Rajahmundry and Kakinada Lok Sabha constituencies respectively. They were among six MPs expelled by the Congress for trying to stall Telangana bill in Lok Sabha.JSP has entered into an electoral alliance with the Communist Party of India (Marxist) in Seemandhra. It has allotted 18 assembly and two Lok Sabha constituencies for the CPI-M.Saturday is the last day for filing nominations for 175 assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Seemandhra, which goes to polls May 7.


Tags: N Kiran Kumar Reddy



related news




Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
© 2011-2022 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD