Friday, 17 September 2021



NEWS FLASH 68th Meeting of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board Lt Governor, Manoj Sinha releases former MLC Ramesh Arora’s poetry collection ‘Anubhutiyan’ Deputy Commissioner Jammu chairs maiden DTC meeting MP Jugal Kishore Sharma flags off Freedom Run at Samba Union MSME Minister, Narayan Tatu Rane lays foundation stone for development park at Bari Brahmana, Samba Union Minister for Tribal Affairs visits Bandipora, inaugurates several projects Union MoS, Som Parkash interacts with representatives of Trade bodies Union AYUSH Minister Sarbananda Sonowa visits Baramulla Union MoS, Som Parkash reviews functioning of I&C Deptt. Union Minister of State for Communication visits Indian International Trade Saffron Spice Park at Pampore Deputations, individuals call on Advisor Baseer Khan at Civil Secretariat Advisor Baseer Ahmad Khan reviews progress on replacement of Barbed wire, poles Union Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal flags off cycle rally by riding himself at Udhampur Lt Governor attends Passing out Parade of 669 cadets of J&K Fire and Emergency Services Union MOS for Petroleum, Natural Gas and Labour & Employment, Rameswar Teli visits Doda DC Srinagar, Mohammad Aijaz Asad visits Shrine of Hazrat Sheikh Hamza Makhdoom(RA) District-Level Environment Committee reviews implementation of Conservation Plan DDC Chairperson Ramban, Dr. Shamshad Shan reviews progress on District Capex Plan, 2021-22, Area Development Funds DC Srinagar, Mohammad Aijaz Asad holds interaction with Tourism Associations Divisional Commissioner, Pandurang Kondbara Pole chairs SSCL meeting for Development of Srinagar Riverfront Phase-I Workshop on formulation of rules, regulations regarding implementation of RTE Act 2009 concludes


BJP wrests Chandigarh mayor's post after 15 years

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Chandigarh , 08 Jan 2016

The BJP bagged the post of the mayor of Chandigarh after a gap of 15 years when Arun Sood, the joint candidate of the BJP-Akali Dal alliance, was elected on Friday.Sood defeated his rival from the Congress, Mukesh Bassi, by six votes.The BJP won all three posts of mayor, senior deputy mayor and deputy mayor.The Chandigarh Municipal Corporation has 35 councillors, including nine nominated councillors. One vote is that of the Chandigarh MP, BJP's Kirron Kher.

Of the 36 votes polled on Friday, Sood got 21 and Bassi 15 votes.

The BJP's Davish Moudgil was elected senior deputy mayor while Hardeep Singh was elected the deputy mayor.The stakes were high for the BJP this time, and top BJP and Akali Dal leaders, including Health Minister J.P. Nadda and Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, campaigning for the combine candidates.Though the BJP-Akali Dal has 15 councillors in the 35-member house, the nine nominated councillors played a key role. The Congress has been winning the mayor's post in the last few years.





related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery



5 Dariya News RNI Code: PUNMUL/2011/49000
Copyright 2011-2021 | 5 Dariya News | All Rights Reserved
Powered by: CDS PVT LTD