Updated on Aug 21, 2019 12:58:20



Congress to intensify fight against divisive forces

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News (Rouf Pampori)

Pahlgam , 08 Aug 2015

One day session of Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Executive Committee was held at Pahlgam today. President JK PCC G. A. Mir presided over the session while AICC observer Sanjay Kapoor MLA was the guest of honour.The meet was attended by all the Office bearers of PCC, Members of the Executive, District Presidents, Contesting Candidates of the party besides heads / representatives of Frontal Organizations of the Party, from all three regions of the State, a party spokesman said in a statement to KNS.The theme of the Convention was ‘YEKJA’ – conveying the message to unitedly fight against the communal and divisive forces in order to maintain the unity and integrity of the State.

The meeting started with opening address of Mir, who gave a detailed resume of the activities of the party in all parts of State during the past few months and the future challenges before the party in the wake of the communal and divisive agenda of the forces in power.“The Congress as a responsible opposition party, has a greater responsibility to further strengthen its resolve to play role of a unifying force in a more effective manner, and defeat the designs of forces hell bent divide the people of the state,” Mir declared.He briefed the leaders o the party about the feedback from the grass root level from different parts about the present opportunist and ‘unholy alliance’ of PDP–BJP and the prevailing resentment over the ‘failure’ of the present dispensation in the State and BJP led Govt at the Centre for their ‘failure’ to fulfil even a single commitment.

Mir also briefed about the ongoing membership drive of the Party which has received tremendous response in all Parts of the State. The JK PCC Chief impressed upon the leaders of the Party to ensure strong units of the party in their respective areas at the booth level and indentify the dedicated and talented workers for promotion to the block, district and PCC Levels with due representation to  women, youth, minorities and down trodden  sections of the Society.Mir referred to the historical role always played by the Congress Party in this state and called upon the Party rank and file to unitedly defeat the attempts to polarize the society of the state for vested political interests, as has been witnessed during the last elections, which has resulted to the loss of the Congress and the broader cause of secular fabric of this State having numerous heterogeneities and distinct regional aspirations.

He said that Congress stands guarantee to respect the urges and aspirations of regions and different sections of the society.Mir referred to the “great resentment amongst the people over the failure of the present dispensation which is product of sheer opportunism and unholy alliance for the sake of power who kept aside their ideologies and important commitments to the people during elections to join the corridors of power.”He said that the claim of the present alliance to bridge gap between regions, has been totally exposed as the gap has widened between regions “because of the inherent contradictions of the PDP & BJP, who are pulling in different directions for the sake of addressing their respective constituencies to maintain their vote bank politics.”The participants appreciated the efforts of the Congress high command and Rahul Gandhi for the vibrant role of the Party inside and outside the Parliament to expose the misdeeds, falsehood and double standards of the BJP over the issues of corruption and impropriety.

A number of resolutions were passed in the convention which highlighted the role and future challenges before the Party, the ‘failure’ of the Centre Govt and State and its treatment to the youth, employee, working class and farmers in the state. Another resolution appreciated the role of Congress leadership and urged Rahul Gandhi to play more key role to lead the youth of the Country.The meeting also stressed upon strengthening the party especially at booth level and vigorously peruse the membership while stressing against any sort of indiscipline in the Party.The political resolution was presented by Taj Mohi U Din and seconded by Mula Ram, Raman Bhalla. The resolution appreciating the role of Congress and its leadership in the Country was moved by Peerzada Mohammad Syed former PCC President and seconded by Thakur Hari Singh. 

The third resolution regarding the treatment being given by the State Govt to the youth, employees and working class was moved by Ch. Aijaz Khan Deputy CLP Leader and seconded by  Sham Lal Sharma senior Vice President, the fourth resolution regarding strengthening of organization network and ensuring discipline  in the party was presented by Rigzin Jora CLP Leader and seconded by G. M. Saroori MLA, Vice President JK PCC. Jora also moved a resolution regarding the damages caused due to floods in Ladakh region. Murtaza Khan while stressing upon the issues of Congress commitment to the principles of secularism and unity of the State also proposed to adopt it as a Declaration of the Session. All these resolutions were unanimously adopted after threadbare deliberations by the house.A large number of participants and senior leaders spoke on the resolutions and other related issues and put fourth their valuable suggestions.At the end JK PCC Chief thanked Irfan Kullar, a local Congress leader and contesting candidate of Pahalgam Constituency for his contribution for making some arrangements with regard to the session.

The prominent among other participants who spoke and participated in the discussions included Jehngir Mir Deputy Chairman LC, Haji Abdul Rashid Dar, Ghulam Nabi Monga, Mohammad Anwar Bhat, Amreen Badre, Kanta Bhan Vice Presidents, Farooq Andrabi, Th. Balwan Singh , Shabir Khan, Manohar Lal Sharma, Asgr Karbalai MLA, Mohammad Muzaffar Parray Yogesh  Sawhney, Manjeet Singh, Manmohan Singh,Nazir Ahmad Khan, Shah Mohammad Chowdhary,  Hilal Ahmad Shah, Surinder Singh Channi, Shameema Iqbal, Ch. Akram MLA, Ch, Mumtaz MLA, Indu Pawar, Rajneesh Sharma, Vikram Malhotra, Namrata Sharma, Haider Sheikh, Pranav Shagotra, Ashok Sharma, Anil Chopra, Arvinder Singh Micky, Amolak Singh, Balbir Singh and others.



Tags: Ghulam Ahmad Mir



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery