Updated on Aug 23, 2019 22:00:57



54 percent polling registered in Kinnaur Assembly Segment

The first voter of post independent India, Shri Shyam Saran Negi on way to cast his vote at Kalpa polling Booth in District Kinnaur today.

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Kinnaur , 27 Jun 2013

Narinder Chauhan, Chief Electoral Officer said here today that the by-poll in Kinnaur assembly segment of Mandi Parliamentary Constituency has approximately registered 54 percent polling and the voting concluded peacefully as per reports reaching at State Headquarters. No untoward incident had been reported except at Shalkhar polling booth due to disturbance of peace. He said that the weather remained partially cloudy and the people came out to vote enthusiastically. 

He said that there were total 52,345 voters in Kinnaur assembly segment. Shri Shyam Saran, 97, who exercised his franchise at Kalpa polling booth, was the first post independent voter of India. The polling was rather sluggish in the morning and as per the reports reaching headquarters by 10.00 AM, the polling percentage was reported as 11 % which gained momentum after 12 noon. The voters turn out by 12 noon was 20 % and the consolidated percentage was around 30 % by then. Meanwhile, by 2 PM 33 % of voters turn out was reported with consolidate percentage turning out to be 41.13 % till 2.30 PM. Earlier, as per the notification of Election Commission of India, the polling date for all 17 assembly constituencies of Mandi Parliamentary constituency was fixed for 23rd June 2013. However, the polling was postponed in Kinnaur constituency due to untimely snow and rain which derailed normal life out of gear. Shri Chauhan said that the alternative arrangements for decentralised counting of vote in Kinnaur segment had been made by the Commission in view of adverse weather conditions. Chief Electoral Officer said that all polling parties along-with electoral voting machines were expected to reach at respective collection centres under tight security. The counting of votes will start at 8.00 AM on 30 June, 2013.

He thanked all the voters of Mandi parliamentary constituency for their co-operation in smooth conduct of polling process.





related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery