Updated on Feb 17, 2019 21:50:44



TRS bags 11 out of 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Hyderabad , 16 May 2014

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has bagged 11 out of 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, while the Congress could retain two out of 12 it won last time.The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and the Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) won a seat each.Party chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao won the Medak Lok Sabha seat, while his daughter K. Kavitha was elected from Nizamabad with a huge majority. She defeated sitting MP Madhu Yaskhi Goud of the Congress.The TRS not only retained Mahabubnagar and Medak, which it won in 2009, but also wrested eight seats from the Congress and one from the TDP.

TRS leader Kadiam Srihari won from Warangal. Another key leader B. Vinod Kumar was elected from Karimnagar, defeating sitting MP Ponnam Prabhakar of the Congress. Other prominent winners from TRS include Vishweshwar Reddy (Chevella), Seetaram Naik (Mahabubabad), and Jithender Reddy (Mahabubnagar).The TRS wrested Adilabad from the TDP, and Zahirabad, Peddapalle and Bhongir from the Congress.The Congress retained only two seats (Nalgonda and Nagarkurnool) out of 12 it won in 2009.The TDP wrested Malkajgiri constituency in Hyderabad while its ally BJP won Secunderabad.YSRCP surprised all by bagging Khammam seat. Its candidate P. Srinivasa Reddy defeated TDP's sitting MP Nama Nageswara Rao by 9,780 votes.MIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi scored a hat-trick in Hyderabad as the party maintained its grip over the seat for the ninth consecutive term.


Tags: K Chandrashekar Rao



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery