Updated on Feb 21, 2019 07:45:03



NC leaders pays glowing tributes to 1931 martyrs

Rouf Pampori

Rouf Pampori

5 Dariya News

Srinagar , 13 Jul 2018

National Conference leaders on Friday paid glowing tributes to 1931 martyrs at a function held at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan Jammu  here and pledged to work for strengthening democracy and promoting the spirit of unity and communal amity.State Secretary Rattan Lal Gupta said the day symbolizes peoples’ urge for democracy and creating a society based on social justice, harmony and equality. Remembering martyrs, Gupta said that the best way of paying tributes to them was to strengthen democracy and secularism in Jammu and Kashmir, which showed the shining example of pluralistic ethos during the most testing times of the history.That was the time when the people galvanized around Sher-e-Kashmir Sheikh Mohammed Abdullah who stood like a rock for Hindu, Muslim and Sikh unity. “This cherished slogan of the towering leader has been the guiding force for National Conference which it has been pursuing with a sense of commitment”, he asserted. 

During the commemoration of the function, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed Provincial Secretary Jammu Province paid homage to 1931 martyrs, pledging to uphold the principles of democracy. He said that National Conference has all along strived for strengthening democracy at all the levels to have optimum participation of people in decision making and shaping their own destiny.Thakur Kashmira Singh Ex-MLC in his tributes said that July 1931 was the turning point for the people of J&K State. Martyrs of 1931 will be remembered for the years to come, he added.Prominent among those present on the occasion included Mr Babu Rampal Ex-MLC, Mr Qazi Jalal Ud Din Ex-MLA,  Haji Mohd Hussain Ex-MLC, Mr Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Mrs Satwant Kour Dogra Provincial President Women Wing ,  Pradeep Bali, Abdul Gani Teli, Mr Vijay Lochan, Tanveer Ahmed Kichloo, Dilshad Malik,  Rohit Bali, Veena Oberia, Pinki Bhat, Sanjay Gupta, S. Sucha Singh,  G.H Malik, Som Raj Taroh, Waris Gill,  Rohit Kerni, S. Tejinder Singh, Sandeep Singh, Dr Tara Chand, Sanjeev Dewan and others. (PTK)


Tags: Omar Abdullah



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery