Updated on Jun 24, 2019 20:39:02



253 candidates file nominations for Nagaland polls

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Kohima , 07 Feb 2018

Nominations for the February 27 Nagaland assembly polls ended on Wednesday with 253 candidates, including substitute candidates, filing their papers, Chief Electoral Officer Abjijit Sinha said.These included five women candidates - A.K. Mangyangpula and Wedie-u Kronu of the National People's Party (NPP), Awan Konyak of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), Rakhila of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), besides Independent candidate Rekha Rose.Chief Minister T.R.Zeliang filed his papers as the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) candidate from Peren assembly constituency. Former Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who is also the state's sole Lok Sabha member, filed his nomination papers as the NDPP nominee from Northern Angami-II assembly constituency.Nine political parties - the NPF, the NDPP, the NPP, the BJP, the Congress, Janata Dal-United, Lok Janshakti Party, Nationalist Congress Party, Aam Aadmi Party besides Independents are contesting.Sinha said scrutiny of the nomination papers will be taken up on Thursday by the respective Returning Officers and the last date of withdrawal is February 12.Counting of votes will be held on March 3.





related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery