Updated on May 20, 2018 17:09:36



All requisite arrangements ensured for counting of votes in Punjab : V. K. Singh

Counting of votes will be started from 8.00 AM, Arms & Mobile Phones are strictly prohibited inside counting centers

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

S.A.S.Nagar (Mohali) , 10 Mar 2017

All requisite arrangements have been ensured for counting of votes to assembly election 2017, on 11th March in Punjab and counting of votes will be started from 8.00 AM, whereas voting trends may be available from 9:30 AM onwards. This was stated by Chief Electoral Officer Punjab Sh. V. K. Singh while addressing the press during his review to the counting centers established here at District Administrative Complex for counting of votes for the constituency Kharar, SAS Nagar & Dera Bassi. Chief Electoral Officer said that for 117 constituencies of the state, total 54 counting centers at 27 different locations have been established and 1 observer for each constituency have been deputed. He said that to facilitate flawless vote counting 14000 officers / official have been deputed at counting centers. Besides this, for each table at counting center will be controlled by 1 Supervisor, 1 Counting Assistant & 1 Micro Observer and counting of votes will be conducted under the supervision of returning officer concerned. He said that counting of Postal Ballots will be conducted prior to counting of votes polled through EVMs. He said that a complete transparent process of vote counting will be followed and prominent public places would witness TV Screens to enable the general public to get update on live counting process, voting trends & results. He said that besides these voting results will also be uploaded on website of election commission. He also said that special arrangements have also been ensured to facilitate the entry of election agents at counting centers.

During this ADGP-cum-Nodal Officer Sh. V. K. Bhawra said that, adequate security arrangements in view of vote counting has been ensured. As such, any kind of Arms & Mobile phone will not be allowed inside counting center and only authorized person having valid ID card issued to him will be allowed to enter the counting center. Unauthorized entry will be strictly prohibited. He said that special arrangements to ensure law & order have been done by the Police and nobody will be allowed to disturb it. He appealed the general public to maintain peace and to remain patient for the voting results and also to maintain brotherhood among them. He said that to facilitate traffic, special parking arrangements have also been ensured. During this District Electoral Officer Sh. D. S. Mangat & Additional District Electoral Officer Sh. Charandev Singh Maan explained about the adequate arrangements done in view of counting of voted for all the three constituencies namely SAS Nagar, Kharar & Dera Bassi. During this SSP Sh. Kuldeep Singh Chahal, Returning Officer SAS Nagar Sh. Anupreeta Johal, Returning Officer Kharar Smt. Amaninder Kaur Brar, Returning Officer Dera Bassi Ms. Ruhi Dug, Assistant Commissioner (G) Sh. Jasvir Singh, SP (H) Sh. Jagjit Singh Jalla, SP (Security & Traffic) Sh. Harvir Singh Atwal and other officers were present.


Tags: ECI



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery