Updated on May 19, 2019 22:55:51



Sonia, Rahul, Dr. Manmohan Singh in Congress list of 40 star campaigners for Punjab

Capt Amarinder to campaign across the state in next 2 weeks, Sidhu ready to give Badal run for money by campaigning in Lambi

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Chandigarh , 19 Jan 2017

From Indian National Congress (INC) president Sonia Gandhi and vice president Rahul Gandhi to former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, ex-cricketer Azharuddin and Bollywood star Sonu Sood, the Congress has drawn up a list of 40 star campaigners to join the state leadership in pitching for the party in the Punjab assembly elections.Among the state leadership, Captain Amarinder Singh, the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) president, will be electioneering for the party across the state in the next two weeks, while cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu has already announced his intention to give Parkash Singh Badal a massive thrashing by campaigning on his home turf of Lambi, where Captain Amarinder is pitted against the Akali leader.The list includes several Congress chief ministers and former chief ministers from various states, as well as a host of senior national level party leaders. These include Himachal Pradesh chief minister Virbhadra Singh, former Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot as well as former Punjab chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal.

Among the top AICC leaders chosen to give a boost to the Punjab Congress campaign are AICC general secretary and MP Ambika Soni, former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar and former union ministers Sushil Kumar Shinde and Pawan Kumar Bansal. AICC in-charge of Punjab affairs Asha Kumari is already camping in Punjab for the past several days to steer the party campaign in the state, while AICC general secretaries Digvijay Singh and Mukul Wasnik will also add their weight to the campaign in the coming days.Rajasthan PCC president Sachin Pilot and UPCC president Raj Babbar have also been shortlisted by the Congress to strengthen the Congress campaign in the state.The list includes several Congress MPs and former MPs, besides All India Mahila Congress president Shobha Oza. Several senior Punjab PCC leaders who are contesting the elections are on the list of campaigners whom  the party high command has directed to lend their support to the candidates in other constituencies.Complete list of Congress campaigners, who would be campaigning during the assembly elections to the Legislative Assembly of Punjab - 2017


1.    Sonia Gandhi, President, INC

2.    Mamnohan Singh, former PM of India

3.    Rahul Gandhi, MP and Vice-President, INC

4.    Ambika Soni, MP and GS, AICC

5.    Digvijay Singh, GS, AICC

6.    Mukul Wasnik, GS, AICC

7.    Asha Kumari, In-Charge, Punjab

8.    Captain Amarinder Singh, President, Punjab PCC

9.    Charanjit Singh Channi, CLP Leader, Punjab

10.  Virbhadra Singh, CM, Himachal Pradesh

11.  Sushil Kumar Shinde, former Union Minister

12.  Meira Kumar, former Speaker, Lok Sabha

13.  Anand Sharma, MP and Senior Spokesperson, AICC

14.  Oscar Fernandes, MP

15.  Dr. Shakeel Ahmad, Senior Spokesperson, AICC

16.  Ashok Gehlot, former CM, Rajasthan

17.  Pawan Kumar Bansal, former Union Minister

18.  Sachin Pilot, President, Rajasthan PCC

19.  Raj Babbar, President, UPCC

20.  Ashok Chaudhary, President, Bihar PCC

21.  Pratap Singh Bajwa, MP

22.  Jyotiraditya Scindia, MP

23.  Ranjeet Ranjan, MP

24.  Rajinder Kaur Bhattal, MLA and former CM, Punjab

25.  K.Raju, Chairman, SC Department, AICC

26.  Harish Chaudhary, Secretary, AICC

27.  Thakur Kaul Singh, Minister of Revenue and Health, Government of HP

28.  Ravneet Bittu, MP

29.  Ch. Santokh Singh, MP

30.  Shamsher Singh Dullo, MP

31.  Mohd. Azharuddin, Ex-MP

32.  Sunil Kumar Jakhar, MLA

33.  Preneet Kaur, Ex-MP

34.  Navjot Singh Sidhu, Ex-MP

35.  Arvinder Singh Lovely, former President, Delhi PCC

36.  Laal Singh, MLA

37.  Manpreet Singh Badal, Vice-President, PPCC

38.  Amarinder Singh Raja Warring, President, IYC

39.  Sobha Oza, President, All India Mahila Congress

40.  Sonu Sood


Tags: Punjab Congress



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery