Updated on Feb 23, 2019 23:31:31



Governor honours 14 teachers on Teacher’s Day

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Shimla , 05 Sep 2016

Governor Acharya Devvrat today conferred State Awards upon 10 teachers and honoured four National Award Winner teachers for the year 2016 in the presence of Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh in an impressive function held at Rajbhawan on the occasion of State level Teacher’s Day.The Governor paid rich tributes to late Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, former President of India, on whose birthday Teacher’s Day is celebrated throughout the country. He termed Dr. Radhakrishnan as a veracious personality, noble laureate, academician and an able administrator.In his address on the occasion, Acharya Devvrat asked to start special campaign for teaching community to educate them about child psychology so that they could understand the real thoughts of the child. 

This was the best process of inculcating quality education and chennilize the energy of the child towards overall development, he added.He said that India was a country of great educationists, who scripted many texts for the welfare of humanity. There was a time when India was the centre of education in the world and students from all over the world used to visit here for attaining knowledge. He said that Taxila and Nalanda were the great centres of higher learning in the world and our culture accorded highest reverence for teachers and it was due to the learned ‘Guru’s’ and the knowledge possessed by our ancestors that India was regarded as a hub of Knowledge.The Governor said that if teacher would be capable, he could instill good qualities in students.

 He pointed out that children were incurious and whatever instilled in childhood would have lifelong impact upon their lives. Underlining the importance of ‘ Guru’, he said that teacher could build their lives as he leads them from darkness to light and that was the reason he was called as the 'Nation builder'. He urged all the teachers to undertake teaching profession as a ‘mission’ and serve the country and society with utmost dedication."Teaching is a noble profession and carries a huge responsibility because the conduct, character and thoughts of teachers influence the students therefore, they should perform their duties honestly and sincerely", said Acharya Devvrat.While congratulating the awardees, he appealed the teaching community to work with more commitment for future generations.The Governor also released a souvenir on the occasion.

The Governor conferred State Awards upon  Smt. Poonam Rana, Principal, GSSS Dehra, District Kangra,  Smt. Vandana, Lecturer, GSSS Kot Tungal, District Mandi, Dr. Ramesh Chand Sharma, Lecturer, GSSS (Girls), Mandi, District Mandi, Shri Jagdish Suri, Lecturer, Physical Education, GSSS Ruslah, District Shimla, Shri Ranvir Singh, PTI, GHS Shavga, District Sirmour,  Dr. Duni Chand, Shastri, GSSS Subathu, District Solan,  Smt. Parvati Devi, JBT, GPS Bharti, District Solan, Shri Satish Kumar, JBT, GPS Bakredi, District Hamirpur, Shri Sanjiv Kumar Mehta, JBT, GPS, Banshera, District Shimla, Shri Ram Kumar Joshi, JBT, GPS Mehatpur, district Una,He also honoured four  National Award Winners for the year 2016  including Dr. Chandreshwar Sharma, Headmaster, GSSS, Kuthar and presently working as deputy director, Primary Education, Solan,  Shri Kashmir Singh, Headmaster, GHS Bhalon, District Una, Shri Ram Pal, TGT, GSSS Dharampur, district Una and Smt. Sandesh Sharma, Headmistress, GPS Ghaliyan, district Bilaspur on the occasion.Shri R.D. Dhiman, Principal Secretary, Education welcomed the dignitaries on the occasion and briefed out various activities and achievements of the education department.

Shri Manmohan Sharma, Director, Primary Education, proposed vote of thanks.A colourful cultural programme was presented by students of RKMV, Shimla and Portmore School, Shimla.Shri Sujan Singh Pathania, MPP and Agriculture Minister, Shri Thakur Singh Bharmouri, Forest Minister, Shri Nand Lal, Chief Parliamentary Secretary, Shri Kewal Singh Pathania, Vice Chairman, Forest Development Corporation, Shri V.C. Pharka, Chief Secretary, Director, Secondary Education, Shri Dinkar Burathoki, senior officers of state government, teachers and students of various schools were also present among others on the occasion.


Tags: Acharya Devvrat , Virbhadra singh



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery