Updated on Mar 20, 2019 14:28:34



Anurag Thakur elected unopposed as BCCI president

Web Admin

Web Admin

5 Dariya News

Mumbai , 22 May 2016

Anurag Thakur on Sunday became the new Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president after he was elected unopposed here.Thakur was all set to be elected president of the BCCI after Shashank Manohar stepped down from the post to become the chairman of the International Cricket Council.Thakur resigned as the secretary of the board earlier.He got the signatures of all six east zone units in his BCCI presidential nomination form, as he completed the formalities in presence of former India captain and Cricket Association of Bengal president Sourav Ganguly.Thakur then nominated Ajay Shirke as secretary of BCCI as per the rules to fill up the vacancy created by his resignation."The members congratulated Mr. Shashank Manohar on his election as the independent Chairman of the ICC," the BCCI later said in a release."Mr. Rahul Johri and Mr. Santosh Rangnekar were introduced to the members of the Board as the new CEO and CFO, respectively." 


Tags: Anurag Thakur



related news



Photo Gallery



Video Gallery